balearic-islands history

  • The official name of the Balearic Islands in Catalan is Illes Balears, while in Spanish they are known as the Islas Baleares. The term “Balearic” derives from Greek (Balliareis).In Latin (Baleares).
  • The Balearic Islands  are an archipelago of Spain in the western Mediterranean Sea, near the eastern coast of the Iberian Peninsula.
  • The four largest islands are Majorca also known as Mallorca, Minorca, Ibiza and Formentera. There are many minor islands and islets in close proximity to the larger islands, including Cabrera, Dragonera and S’Espalmador.
  • Their excellent climate with some 300 days of sun per year, wonderful beaches, a rich cultural offer and the unusual hospitality of their inhabitants make Balearic Islands one of the preferred holiday destinations in Spain. There are more passengers at the airport of Palma de Mallorca than at the airport of any other Spanish city.
  • The four major islands are all popular tourist destinations. Ibiza in particular is known as an international party destination, attracting many of the world’s most popular DJs to its nightclubs. The islands’ culture and cuisine are similar to that of the rest of Spain.

Area: 4,992 km²

Province: Balearic Islands

Population: 1.103 million (2014)


Both Catalan and Spanish are official languages in the islands. Catalan is designated as a “llengua pròpia”, literally “own language” in its statute of autonomy. Practically all residents of the Balearic Islands speak Spanish fluently. In 2003 74.6{b91e27ac48afd21299a1f84dc4b5eac81c72cd88c0837a98e5ff95f2b8d105af} of the Islands’ residents also know how to speak Catalan and 93.1{b91e27ac48afd21299a1f84dc4b5eac81c72cd88c0837a98e5ff95f2b8d105af} can understand it. Other languages, such as English, German and Italian, are often spoken by locals, especially those who work in the tourism industry.

Comments are closed.